CIVIL WAR TRANSCENDENCE, part 208

“We were captured by Captain Devlin of the Yankee Cavalry. Mr. Sage, Jonah and I had to escape plus set Jeremy Sage free from another Yankee contingent. That’s what took us so long. By the way did Jonah Sage arrive with 20 Yankee horses fully equipped with weaponry?” I rebutted.

Major Mosby narrowed his eyes at me. I know that he wasn’t use to being spoken to in this manner, but I was tired and not in the mood of any lip, even if it is was from someone as famous and brave as Mosby.

I narrowed my gaze and looked him straight in the eye. I also let the fingers of my right hand play on the butt of one of my Colts.  Like I said, I’d had enough guff for one day.

The Major saw that my fingers were drumming on my Colt and declared, “Hager, would you shoot me right here in my camp?”

I smiled, dropped my hand from my pistol and croaked, “Major, suffice it to say, we got here as soon as we could. I got all our vital information from the Sage family and I wasn’t going to let them be taken to any Yankee camp. We probably wouldn’t see them anymore.”

208 harpers ferry map

The Major eyeballed me a moment more and elucidated, “Jonah Sage went to Harpers Ferry with the horses. I got word that he arrived about an hour ago. The horses, equipment and weapons he delivered were a welcome surprise.  I take it that you were the one that procured them?”

“I had a hand in the procurement,” I revealed.

“Major, he had more than a hand in the procurement. You shoulda have seen what he done to that Yankee Captain. He has more guts than anyone I ever seen,” Mr. Sage declared.

I turned a bright red shade of red and stuttered, “There is time for that later. We got vital information about the structure of the Yankee Units and their time table for a possible attack.”

I told the Major what information Jonah had secured as to the number of Union soldiers, cavalry and artillery. Mr. Sage related what the Yankee Commander said about Saturday being too late to gather information about Confederate troop dispositions in Shepherdstown. Jeremy chimed in with information that Yanks were at Keedysville, but not at Sharpsburg.

The Major called for his orderly and told him to find a tent for the Sage men. When they were gone, he went to a map on a small table in the middle of the tent and motioned me over.  Before we began to look at it, I said, “That family just lost their farm, their crops and all their worldly positions for helping me. I just had to help them Major.”

“I’m afraid a lot of us are going to be in the same situation before this war is over.  I understand what dictated your actions, but don’t ever threaten me in any way shape or form again. Do you understand?” He decreed.

I nodded my head.

“Okay, let’s figure out what the Yanks are going to do.”

Merry Christmas from Vernon and Nancy.  Thank you for reading!

 

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

