Civil War Transcendence, part 241

The Major asked his orderly to enter the tent just as we were exiting, and we heard him say as we walked to our horses, “Tell the company commanders to meet me here in five minutes.”

Al and I turned around to see the orderly hot footing it to contact the captains of the five companies.  We looked at each other and grinned. I said, “I don’t know about you, but I don’t want any other horse but Stonewall with me on this little venture.”

He nodded and said, “I don’t want another hoss eithah. We sort ah got use to each othah too.”

I asked, “Could you get all the supplies for us together? I know I need to be in on the meeting for the Captains.”

He grinned and said, “Course Jim. Heck, if’n I stay around you much longah, I’ll probley be a General in no time.”

We both laughed. I handed him Stonewall’s reins and turned around to go back to Mosby’s tent. Stonewall gave me a forlorn look as Jim guided our cayuses away for some oats, water and replenishment of our supplies.

I asked a trooper that was walking by where the privy was. He indicated a place down near the bank of the river. I headed down to the slip trench that acted as the command’s outhouse with my ever present newspaper. I did my business and cleaned up. Then took a quick walk south down the C & O Path to stretch my legs. I knew I had a few more minutes before the Captains would be congregating at Mosby’s tent.

There was no one between the camp and our pickets to the south but me, and it felt good to be alone for a change.  However, suddenly in the foliage, on the left side of the Path, I saw a green gleam and instantly regretted my little sashay.

She appeared and motioned for me to join her off the path and behind a large elm tree.  Once I rounded the tree, guess what she did? That’s right. She giggled like a school girl. Then she threw her arms around me.

I still couldn’t believe her strength. She lifted me off the ground in a bear hug. I couldn’t move.  She was about two inches taller than I was in her high heel boots. Her eyes captivated me and it was like looking in the eyes of a cobra. You wanted to run, but couldn’t.

Image credit: David on flickr.com

Image credit: David on flickr.com

Slowly she closed the distance between us. Her lips touched mine and just like last time I felt a jolt of energy start at my lower back and shoot up my spinal column to my brain. It was as if I had been given some sort of shock treatment. I opened my eyes, which I didn’t even know I had closed, and looked into those blue green pools of turquoise.

She set me down on my feet and had to hold me for a few seconds to allow me to get my equilibrium.  Then she giggled and said, “I thought you might need some extra energy for your little foray.”

I just stared at her for a moment and then shook myself to get rid of her hold on my arms. She stepped back, and I demanded, “What do you know of our campaign?”

She giggled and disappeared.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

