Civil War Transcendence, part 245

 

Al and the rest of the troop added in their renditions of the Rebel Yell.  I hit one of the Yankee horse handlers.  He went down in a heap, releasing the four horses in his charge.

245 stampede

These horses stampeded away from us and headed along the back of the second building, running due east. The other two Yank horse handlers tried to stop their charges from following the frightened foursome, but to no avail.  Our troop’s Rebel Yell, the firing of our guns at the Yanks and the return fire from the Yanks, plus their yelling, scared the remaining 8 horses out of their wits.  The four steeds in the second handler’s care wrenched so hard that I saw at least two of the Yank cayuses pull their bridle bits from their mouths. (Their riders apparently didn’t know how to secure a bridle on their horses.)  The remaining two horses of his foursome followed the thundering herd dragging their handler along for the ride.  The third handler gave up trying to control his four chargers and, releasing their reins, dove through a window in the second building. With the last of the Yank horses gone, our enemy had no means of escape.

I was close enough to Al to point to the space between the two buildings and yell, “Go there.”

He reined his horse into the opening, and the rank of men behind him followed. I looked back at my rank and yelled, “Follow me.”

We rounded the end of the second building, and I reined in Stonewall as best I could while motioning the rank to come up abreast to me. They got the picture, and soon we were in line of battle. We could hear Al and his men firing what little ammo they had left at the Yanks, who were firing back rather rapidly.  I signaled us to go forward, and we advanced alongside the end of the second house and came to the front porch.

Suddenly, a Yank came running off the porch, skedaddling for all he was worth.  I   jabbed Stonewall with my boots, and he lunged forward, knocking the Yank off his feet and rolling him down the knoll.  With my left hand I motioned for my men to

keep in line of battle and to swing around the second building and face toward the first building.  They stepped off very well, and when we were facing due west, we saw that the Yanks had retreated to the second building’s porch and had their backs to us.  They were firing at Al and his contingent.

I yelled at the top of my voice, “Ready, Aim.”

This got the remaining six Yank’s attention. They whipped around to see 6 guns aimed at them.  I then yelled, “It’s up to you if you want to live.”

Al and his contingent quickly came around the other side of the building, and we now had the Yanks in a crossfire.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

