Civil War Transcendence, part 250

 

In the presence of Major Mosby I began, “Captain Greenley, Sergeant Madigan and I are gonna ride into the Yankee Camp, which is situated at Mount Briar.”

I pointed out the landmark in the distance and continued, “Once we get the Yanks captured, one of us will raise his hand above his head, at that time we will need you to ride in with an occupying force of 10 troops. So in order to make this work quickly, you will need the use of some binoculars to keep us in view when we ride out. Do you have such equipment?”

He nodded and pointed to his saddle bags to indicate he had the required spyglass.  He didn’t say anything, but he looked at Major Mosby with a questioning expression. I don’t think he believed Al and I could pull it off.

Mosby just stared back at him with an amused expression.

Finally, Capt. Greenley asked, “When are y’all gonna leave?”

“In about 5 minutes,” I replied.

Capt. Greenley motioned to his Lieutenant. I believe he was getting the 10 men together for the occupying force.  Al and I saluted Mosby, who returned our salutes.

I turned to Al and asked, “You ready?”

“Yeah.” He took a pistol from his holster and gripped it with his right hand and then put his hands behind his back as if they were tied.  He was in uniform and I wasn’t.

I took his horse’s reins in my hand and murmured, “Here goes nothing.”

I started walking Stonewall and pulled Al’s horse along with me. I accelerated gradually until we were galloping. We broke out of the eastern mouth of the gap and rode “hell bent for leather”.

At first the Yanks didn’t see us because some trees and a small knoll obscured their view, but about a quarter of a mile from Mount Briar they spied us, and all four got up to try and understand what we were doing. They even aimed their carbines at us.

250 union soldiers

I pulled a pistol and waved it over my head and started yelling, “I captured him. I captured a Reb.”  I even shouted Wahoo a couple of times. The Yanks must have been taken in by the subterfuge because they quit aiming their weapons at us and dropped their rifles down to their sides.

I breathed a sigh of relief and began to slow our cayuses down.  I kept chattering with a big smile on my face, “I got one. I got one. Caught him back on the Lower Bridge Road.”

We came to a halt, and I pulled Al’s horse up to the right side of me so Al and I were even with each other.  Then as if we read each other’s mind, we raised our pistols and pointed them at arm’s length at the four Yanks.

“Drop your weapons or we will blow you to kingdom come.”

filigree

In celebration of our 250th Episode, I’m giving a special gift to the first five readers that will go to my new website at www.vernondutton.com and click on the Contact Vernon tab.

Please type your name and email address in the appropriate blanks…and in the Comments blank type “Free Assassins of History: Transference” book. 

I will send you a free copy of my new book, which is in the final stages of being edited. 

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

