Civil War Transcendence, part 290

 

I galloped to Captain Reedy and yelled, “How goes it?”1`

He yelled back, “Thar beginning to rally and will counter attack momentarily.”

“Well, pull back to the Valley Pike and Townsend Road. Thar are some hills there that you can use as cover,” I said.

At that moment the last of our captured cannon pulled out toward Crampton’s Gap.

A few moments later, there were a series of explosions which I inferred were the handiwork of the ten plundering troopers. Simultaneously, “the Tenuous Ten” came galloping toward me, screaming like a band of Comanche.  Apparently, they were relishing their job of destruction and disdaining any military order of march.

290-explosion

 

 

Reining in, one of them grinned ear-to-ear and reported, “Lieutenant, we done what cha ordered and here we are.”

I looked at this motley crew and just shook my head. Pointing to the two cannon, caissons and limbers that were headed south, I ordered, “Go protect those cannon and help the crews get them to the top of the mountain.”

Gleefully, all of the Tenuous Ten saluted and spurred their mounts without waiting for my returned salute.

I nudged Stonewall to follow and we galloped back to the Valley Pike. We stopped there and I looked northward. Eleven pillars of smoke rose skyward.

I turned Stonewall southward and nudged him. Off we went like a rocket in flight.

I proceeded down the road, and holding Stonewall’s reins in my teeth, performed a quick cylinder change of two of my pistols.  Once we reached Townsend Road, I could see the cannon were bumping along toward the tree line at the base of the mountain.  Looking south I saw Major Mosby and his contingent in a knock-down, drag-out fight with Yankee cavalry.

 

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

