Civil War Transcendence, part 293

 

As I paralleled the Valley Pike to the south and got closer to the fighting between Captain Edwards and the front of the Yankee column, I saw about 10 Yankee Cavalry troopers that were below my position and facing west getting ready to charge the right flank of our position. All the noise from the fighting had covered my movement through the woods.

I quickly pulled two pistols from my belt, turned Stonewall toward the Yank contingent and put his reins in my teeth. I nudged his flanks with my knees and bent over next to his neck. Stonewall surged downhill toward the Yanks.

293-horseback

I let out a muffled yell when directly behind the far left of their line and fired my pistols until they clicked empty. I saw two men unhorsed and a third slump in his saddle. The rest of the Yanks fled toward their lines as I directed Stonewall toward Captain Edwards’ line of men.

Our boys saw me flush the Yanks from their flank and gave me covering fire as I raced toward our lines.  I guess the suddenness of my attack caught the main Yankee line by surprise, because they didn’t fire at me immediately. By the time they recovered, our boys were pouring a volley into their position, causing them to duck for cover.

I rode behind the hill that masked me from Yankee fire and asked a soldier where Captain Edwards was located. He pointed to the middle of their line, and I nudged Stonewall in that direction.

I found Captain Edwards directing the fire of his men and quickly dismounted in the back of a hill that was his main position. Running toward him, I yelled his name and he turned and smiling said, “Well, Lieutenant, have you come to enjoy the show?”

I smiled back and said, “No Capt’n. Ya need to get outta here as fast as ya can.”

He quipped back, “Tha Yanks got me pinned down and I can’t move toward Crampton’s Gap.”

“Capt’n, ya can get outta here by going up tha mountain gap to tha east of tha town that lays behind your line.”

I pointed to the slender break in the trees at the top of South Mountain and said, “That’s Brownsville Gap. When ya get to the top of the mountain, ya can follow the ridgeline to Crampton’s Gap or go on down the far side of the mountain and head north on the road at the eastern base of the mountain and rendezvous with us at Burkittsville.  But ya gotta pull out now and hightail it up tha mountain.”

Captain Edwards immediately called for his First Sergeant and began to pull troops out of line and hurry them in squads toward Brownsville and the road up the mountain

As I mounted Stonewall, I looked west and the best route to get to our westernmost company under Captain Jameson.

 

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

