Civil War Transcendence, part 347

 

The Newcomer household must have been apprised of the required departure of the dynasty’s daughter, because Mrs. Newcomer was caterwauling to beat sixty.

Her entreaties were falling on the deaf ears of Mr. Newcomer, who was still smarting from the disobedience of his command by Daphne backed up by a weapon.

I dare say that she has a habit of displaying some of the most vicious tendencies, while being one of the most loving human beings that I have ever had the privilege of knowing and loving. The hard thing to interpret is what will get her so worked up that she is ready to defend her notion with aggression.  I guess I will learn the hard way, because she will be coming with me, and we will be married just as soon as we get to a place that we can find a preacher.  I smiled at this aspiration and hoped Daphne would be in agreement.

Apparently, Daphne had been packing some clothing essentials when she was accosted by her mother, asking what she was doing. From there, the avalanche of family contention erupted.

I decided to get up and get dressed, but looking around, I found that my clothes were missing. I didn’t dare call for Daphne’s assistance because she was in the midst of trying to amass her possessions, placate her mother, and avoid her farther.  I wanted to get up and get out of this house, but walking around in my drawers to accomplish this feat didn’t seem the right thing to do.

Finally, Daphne entered the parlor with an arm load of my clothes and my Colts, whose disappearances had made me rather anxious, especially with the triumvir of Mr. Newcomer, Ahab Duggan and Bessie running around loose.

She deposited them on my make-shift bed and warned, “We better get out of here while tha getting is good.”

It didn’t take any more urging to get me moving. I dressed quickly and had my Colts securely belted next to my sides in a matter of minutes. I had completely forgotten the 19th century code of correct social etiquette and was brought back to the present century when I looked up to see Daphne smiling slyly at my faux pas.  I turned every shade of red that is conceivable. I started to utter my apology, but she raised her hands with palms toward me and said, “Don’t worry about it. I think tha situation dictated yar haste, but I did enjoy tha presentation.”

I turned even redder if that is possible and began, “Daphne, I’m sorry. I…ah..ah.”

She walked up to me and put her finger to my lips, effectively quieting my apology. Then I was rewarded with a laugh and a loving hug.  She released me and said, “We better leave.”

I nodded in the affirmative and we walked to the front door. On either side of the door were Newcomer boys. They glared at me with the vehemence of a demon, but I just met their gaze as we exited the house and went out on the porch. I almost choked at the sight in front of me.  There was a carriage packed to the gills, a second wagon full of furniture, and two horses packed with boxes and a small trunk. Stonewall was even saddled and tied to the back of the carriage. He let out a long whinny when we came down the stairs to the mansion.

I was about to say something, but Daphne grabbed my arm and directed me to the carriage. I looked up to see who was driving and was surprised to see John Lee. He smiled at my bewilderment as I got in the coach. John Lee summarily flicked the horses’ reins and our caravan set off toward Harpers Ferry.

I was absolutely flabbergasted at all the loot that Daphne had purloined from the Newcomer residence.

As we proceeded down the entrance way to the estate, we were treated to the muffled bawling of Mrs. Newcomer and the commands to hush up from Mr. Newcomer.

It was all I could do to keep from laughing. I looked at Daphne. She was looking straight ahead with a profound expression of determination. I didn’t know all the details of the goings on in the Newcomer family, but I recognized discontent when I saw it.

Flaunting all 19th century social etiquette of being with a non-chaperoned female, I took Daphne’s hand in mine. Then I looked into her eyes and stated, “I love ya.”

 

 

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

