Civil War Transcendence, part 348

 

Daphne nestled closer to me as we made our way out of Halltown.

Turning to look at her with a serious expression, I broached the subject that had been on my mind, “Daphne, I don’t have anything to offer, but myself and my love for ya. Will ya marry me?”

She beamed from ear to ear, and hugging me tightly, squealed, “Yes, yes! Oh, yes!”

Her cries of joy made John Lee turn around and look at us. He laughed when he saw the joy that Daphne’s face displayed and turned back to keep his horses moving and following the road.

Stonewall even let out another of his famous whinnies. I guess he understood that our family had grown with the addition of another member.

I didn’t have a ring to give her, but I did have a watch that I had bought when I first entered Shepherdstown. I pulled the watch from my pocket and handing it to her vowed, “I give this as token of my love for ya, and I vow to love ya for as long as I live. I will redeem this token from ya and replace it with a ring as soon as I can.”

She smiled and said, “Ya don’t have to do that.”

“I know, but I want ya to have something from me that signifies a demonstration of my love,” I explained.

She quit smiling and solemnly took the watch and intoned, “I accept this watch as a token of yar love and also as a demonstration of my love for ya.”

I actually had tears in my eyes after our devout pledges of love and devotion.

I was able to blink back the tears, but Daphne dabbed at her eyes with her ever-present handkerchief.

Then I took another calculated risk by stating, “I guess tha next order of business is to find a preacher today and get married.”

She jerked her head toward me, and sitting up straight, exclaimed, “Oh, Jim! Can we? Please don’t tease me. Can we?”

I let loose a deep resounding laugh and promised, “I wouldn’t have said it if I didn’t mean it.”

“Well, when and where and at what time?” she urged as we bounced along the pike road.

I chuckled and stated, “I have to check into with Colonel Daniels, but after that we will find a preacher. In fact, why don’t ya check us into tha hotel on Shenandoah and find a preacher? We can get married after I come back from my meeting and have a honeymoon tonight.”

She literally clapped her hands and said, “I will have everything ready when ya get back.”

I grinned and said, “Okay, why don’t ya let me off at tha cavalry camp and I’ll join ya later at tha hotel?”

She laughed out loud again and said with a sultry tone, “I will be waiting for ya. Don’t be late.”

I smiled, and giving her a knowing grin, promised, “Don’t worry. I’ll be there with bells on.”

She laughed wholeheartedly in reply.

 

 

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

