Civil War Transcendence, part 364

 

I could see the greenish teal glimmer in the roadway before she ever appeared. In an instant, San Cirr Ray materialized about five yards in front of us.

Stonewall halted and whinnied a warning to the alien.  His ears were laid back, and I could feel that his body was tense.  His last meeting with her hadn’t ended on a very friendly note.

San Cirr Ray looked at Stonewall and then at me.

“Looks like I don’t have a friend in this world,” she determined.

I didn’t say a word, but instead queried, “I thought both of you were supposed to be here when we met?”

Suddenly, a brighter greenish phantasm appeared and then flashed into the personage of Kann Mer Ray.

Stonewall started to back up, but I said, “Whoa boy.”

Kann Mer Ray bowed and apologized, “I’m sorry to be late. I was running behind. I didn’t mean to startle your steed.”

Stonewall gave one of his snorts and displayed laid back ears and a tense body.

Kann Mer Ray began to raise his hand.

“Don’t even think about it,” I challenged.

He gave me a resigned look and let his hand drop to his side.

“Alright, I’m here and ready to talk. What is your proposal?” I demanded.

“You promised to do our bidding in return for the safe deliverance of your men, not just listen to a proposal,” San Cirr Ray blurted.

“I originally said I would listen to your proposal. You took it to mean that I would do your bidding,” I retorted hotly.

Kan Mer Ray said, “I believe that once Jim hears our proposal that he will give it his full attention.”

I turned to look at the male alien with a frown.

Kan Mer Ray proposed, “Why don’t you dismount and let us talk face to face?”

I nodded, dismounted and came around to face the aliens. Stonewall gently nudged me to let me know he had my back. I grinned in response.

Kan Mer Ray noted, “Your steed, or should I say your incarnated animal spirit guide, is very protective.”

I looked at him with a shocked expression. “What do ya mean?” I declared.

The alien smiled at me and asserted, “Surely you knew your rapport was more than usual?”

I still looked at him with a stunned countenance.

Slowly, I turned to look at Stonewall. His eyes looked straight into my eyes without flinching. Then I swear his features seemed to be smiling. I uttered in a fascinated voice, “Well, if that don’t beat all.”

Suddenly, I laughed and hugged his neck. He let loose with one of his famous whinnies, and I laughed even harder.

“Okay, you’ve had a great revelation. Now how about we discuss why we came here?” San Cirr Ray expressed in a derisive voice.

I turned swiftly with a disdainful utterance readily available, but looking at Kann Mer Ray, decided against it. Instead I asked, “Okay, what is it?”

“We want you and Mosby to raid Washington. We believe the action will incite the populace of the North to bring enough pressure on the U.S. President that he would sue for peace,” proposed the alien.

My lower jaw literally dropped so hard that I thought I had unhinged my jaw. My eyes popped open so wide that they hurt. Lastly, my ears jerked backward so far that it affected my hearing. I maintained these exaggerated bodily positions until Stonewall nudged me.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

