Civil War Transcendence, part 365

 

Finally, I stuttered, “How in heaven’s name could we do that? The U. S. capital is so heavily protected with forts that we wouldn’t get anywhere near Washington D.C., let alone raid it.”

“We can provide a way,” Kann Mer Ray promised.

‘Listen, I can’t be a part of changing history with advanced technology,” I declared.

“Well, you’ve done it before,” San Cirr Ray said with a smirk.

“But that was different. I was trying to save people’s lives,” I argued.

“Isn’t shortening the war, saving people’s lives?” Kann Mer Ray probed.

“But what will it do to the history of this planet or universe or whatever ya call it?” I retorted.

“It will bring about a different result to the conflagration that happened in your universe,” he disclosed.

I looked at him in stunned silence for what seemed like hours before the parts of the puzzle came together. Anger transfused my being. I took an aggressive step toward the alien, who didn’t seem intimidated in the least, and through clinched teeth, hissed, “Do you mean to tell me that you are in control of history, and we are nothing but guinea pigs for your entertainment?”

San Cirr Ray smiled and then quipped, “Mentor, I believe the human finally has seen the light.”

I transfixed her with a gaze of such hate that, for a split second, her mirth was stymied as she became aware of a possible physical attack.

Kann Mer Ray’s eyes never left my face as he raised his hand for his assistant to remain silent. Then in a matter of fact voice informed me, “We have to know what historical evolution will produce the best and most peaceful paragon of the human race.”

I was shaken to the core of my essence.  I turned my back to the aliens and took a few steps away until I was on Stonewall’s left side facing the terrain behind us. I grabbed his saddle horn with my left hand to keep from falling and began to shake my head.  My heart was beating like a drum at a marching band concert. My breath was ragged and coming in gasps.  I couldn’t believe what I just heard.

It took me a few minutes to get my act together. Once I had my heart rate under control and my breathing wouldn’t cause me to hyperventilate, I turned and looked back at the aliens. Through eyes that had a difficult time focusing, I could barely discern that Kann Mer Ray’s face displayed no emotion at all, while San Cirr Ray had a smirk on her face. She was really enjoying my trauma.

The anger that welled up inside me, due to her arrogance, helped bring me back to a normal state of being. The only thought that ran throw the reptilian part of my mind was retaliation.  I reached for my Colts. I really didn’t care what happened to me anymore.

Before I could clear the Colts from my belt, Kann Mer Ray lifted his hand and pointed the index finger on his right hand at me. I couldn’t move.  He took a step toward me, and Stonewall tried to rear up and bring his front hooves down on the alien. Kann Mer Ray simply pointed the index finger of his left hand at my faithful friend, and Stonewall was held in place without his front legs ever leaving the ground.

The alien, with his ever present assistant, came to stand in front of me. Kann Mer Ray continued to hold us in a paralyzed state. Looking at me with eyes that seemed to sear into my soul, he began, “You are one of only a handful of humans to whom we have revealed the motive for our presence on this earth. I know this is hard to believe, but there are other parallel Earths.”

I had figured out the parallel universe concept, but I didn’t understand that there could be many possible Earths out there in different dimensions. My face went slack as the importance of his words hit me with another thunderbolt.

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

