Civil War Transcendence, part 376

“Well, at least we know he’s out there. Apparently, the ones against us have graduated from face-to-face confrontations to shooting from ambush,” I uttered in a low voice to John Lee. Looking up at him, I said, “I’m so sorry to get ya into all this.”

He looked at me for a long time and then said, “I’s wich ya. I been wich ya since tha night at Ferry Hill when ya kilt those Yankees what was beating me and gave me that Colt pistol.”

We looked at each other for a long time, and there seemed to pass an understanding between us that we would always have each other’s back.

Finally, I just nodded and he nodded back. Then I said, “How in tarnation are we gonna get these ladies back to Shepherdstown without get ‘em killed?”

“It’s gotta be at nite,” John Lee concluded.

“I know,” I agreed. “But this killer is a really good shot. If’n we don’t get ‘im now, he’ll kill us any time he wants. He can shoot from afar with a great deal of accuracy,” I added.  After a minute I continued, “We got to get him out in tha open. We got to trick ‘im to make a move here, where we have some back up,” I insisted.

“How we gwanna do that?” John Lee said.

“I’m sorta getting an idea as to how to do it, but first I need to talk with Major Mosby,” I stated. “Could we exchange hats and coats and could ya let me ride yar horse to tha cavalry camp?” I gushed.

“Yeah,” he answered with a quizzical expression on his face.

“And if’n ya could hang around downstairs and not let anyone with a silver heart on his hat band go up tha stairs to tha third floor, I would appreciate it,” I requested.

“I will,” he vowed.

“Great,” I responded and began to take off my hat and coat.

John Lee followed suit, and after he dismounted and we exchanged wardrobes, I mounted his horse much to the chagrin of Stonewall, who whinnied loudly his disapproval.

I looked at him and vowed, “This is only for this one ride, I promise.”

This brought a disgusted snort from my animal spirit guide, but I could see he acquiesced for this one venture.

I rode John Lee’s mount out of the stable at a leisurely trot, and once I had reached the edge of town, I kicked the cayuse into high gear. John Lee’s mount wasn’t as easy to ride as Stonewall, but he could really stretch out when galloping.

We made it to the cavalry camp in no time, but the guard didn’t recognize me, due to my different clothing and hat. I was stopped and made to wait before Major Mosby personally came to the guard post and ordered the guards to allow me to enter the camp.

Once we were out of earshot of the guard post, I gave him the complete information about the sniper and that he had been sighted today.

He listened with interest and then asked, “What cha have in mind?”

After I laid out my plan, he took a few minutes to consider my strategy.

Then he said, “It might work. How many do ya need?”

 

About Civil War Reflections

Vernon has been a Civil War buff since childhood, but had been inactive in Civil War history for over two decades. However, in the early 1990s his interest was rekindled after watching Ken Burns’ “Civil War Documentary” on PBS. He particularly became interested in the Battle of Antietam (Sharpsburg) and decided to learn more about this epic struggle.
This entry was posted in Time Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

